The University implemented a new process for storing collaborative data that may affect your access to shared files and folders.
In March 2024, all files and folders owned by any inactive Google and Box account will be permanently deleted unless they are moved to a shared drive.
These include files and folders shared with you that you do not own or did not create. An inactive account is classified as one owned or created by a faculty/staff member or student who left the University more than a year ago.
How to Maintain Access to Important Information
The best way to protect access to important projects, research and essential files is to search for documents that have been shared with you, and move them to Google Shared drives or a Box group account.
Information saved in either of these areas is not tied to the content owner, and will guarantee continued access for all collaborators in the event that person leaves the University.
There are a couple of ways to check if a document is owned by an individual or if it is already stored in Google Shared drives or a Box group account. More information is available in these knowledge articles:
The Office of Information Technology (OIT) is also offering additional resources to guide you through maintaining access to collaborative work not stored in a shared drive, including:
- Scheduled information sessions via Zoom (registration not required).
- Remote 1:1 help sessions where you can schedule an appointment on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
- Drop-in office hours available every Wednesday from 1 to 2:30 p.m.
Why is This Happening?
This effort is part of the University’s continued efforts to manage its storage footprint, and meet the requirements of the updated account lifecycle policy. It will also help maintain strong information security for the campus community and provide more effective resource management.
Additional information is available at go.nd.edu/accountlifecycle.